text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
×

Shopping Cart

_

The Paris Library

The Paris Library

Your wishlist has reached the maximum limit of 150. Please reduce the number of products in your wishlist and try again.

Enter postcode or suburb to view shopping options

$16
RRP $32.99 (51% OFF RRP)
$16
RRP $32.99 (51% OFF RRP)
    Saved to Wishlist
    To save and manage the list, please
RRP $32.99 (51% OFF RRP)
4 payments of $4.00.
From $10 a week.

$3.90 Delivery available* Conditions
apply

Pre-order Price Guarantee
When you pay for your pre-order upfront and the price drops before release day you will be refunded the difference shortly after release.

Release date is subject to change.

Item will be available in Store and for Pick up after the release date.

  • Delivery

Enter postcode or suburb to view shopping options

Inspired by the true story of the librarians who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage and betrayal inspired by real-life defiance in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Book Thief and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society.

PARIS, 1939 Odile Souchet is obsessed with books, and working at The American Library in Paris for the formidable director Dorothy Reeder is all she has ever dreamed of. The Library and its thriving community of students, writers, diplomats and book lovers provide her with a safe haven. When war is declared, the Library is determined to remain open. But then the Nazis invade Paris, and everything changes. The Nazi 'Library Protector' changes the rules overnight, declaring a war on words and making the librarians risk their lives to do their jobs.
Under the courageous guidance of Miss Reeder, Odile and her fellow librarians defy the authorities to make sure all their subscribers, even those deemed no longer desirable, get access to books and remain part of their community, whatever the cost.
Choices as black and white as the words on a page become a murky shade of grey - choices that will put many of the wrong side of history, and the consequences of which will echo for decades to come.


  • Product Contains:

    Trade Paperback

  • Published:

    09.02.2021

  • Publisher:

    Hachette

  • Author:

    Janet Skeslien Charles

  • ISBN:

    9781529335453

  • Number of Pages:

    336

  • Release Date:

    Tue Feb 09 00:00:00 AEDT 2021

  • Brand Name:

    Hachette

  • Article Number:

    139575

  • Product Height:

    23.4 cm

  • Product Depth:

    3.0 cm

  • Product Width:

    15.3 cm

  • Product Weight:

    0.3 kg

FREE Pick up

Pick up allows you to buy online and Pick up in any BIG W store 7 days per week.

See here for more information on Pick up.

Home Delivery

Want to have your order delivered? See here for more information on our delivery options.

Returns

Please click here to see BIG W's returns policies.