The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

$16
NEW
RRP $32.99 (51% OFF RRP)
Afterpay
4 payments of $4Learn more
Zip
From $10 a weekLearn more

Free gift messaging for home delivery items.

Simply write your message on the delivery page as you check out. Messages will be printed separately on a BIG W gift card and placed inside your delivery, along with a gift receipt.

Note: Items are not individually wrapped. Inappropriate or offensive messages will not be printed.

Product DetailsSpecificationDelivery & Returns
Inspired by the true story of the librarians who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage and betrayal inspired by real-life defiance in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Book Thief and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society.

PARIS, 1939 Odile Souchet is obsessed with books, and working at The American Library in Paris for the formidable director Dorothy Reeder is all she has ever dreamed of. The Library and its thriving community of students, writers, diplomats and book lovers provide her with a safe haven. When war is declared, the Library is determined to remain open. But then the Nazis invade Paris, and everything changes. The Nazi 'Library Protector' changes the rules overnight, declaring a war on words and making the librarians risk their lives to do their jobs.
Under the courageous guidance of Miss Reeder, Odile and her fellow librarians defy the authorities to make sure all their subscribers, even those deemed no longer desirable, get access to books and remain part of their community, whatever the cost.
Choices as black and white as the words on a page become a murky shade of grey - choices that will put many of the wrong side of history, and the consequences of which will echo for decades to come.
Article Number:
139575
Author:
Janet Skeslien Charles
Brand Name:
Hachette
ISBN:
9781529335453
Number of Pages:
336
Product Contains:
Trade Paperback
Product Depth:
3.0 cm
Product Height:
23.4 cm
Product Weight:
0.3 kg
Product Width:
15.3 cm
Published:
09.02.2021
Publisher:
Hachette
Release Date:
Tue Feb 09 00:00:00 AEDT 2021
Product details
Inspired by the true story of the librarians who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage and betrayal inspired by real-life defiance in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Book Thief and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society.

PARIS, 1939 Odile Souchet is obsessed with books, and working at The American Library in Paris for the formidable director Dorothy Reeder is all she has ever dreamed of. The Library and its thriving community of students, writers, diplomats and book lovers provide her with a safe haven. When war is declared, the Library is determined to remain open. But then the Nazis invade Paris, and everything changes. The Nazi 'Library Protector' changes the rules overnight, declaring a war on words and making the librarians risk their lives to do their jobs.
Under the courageous guidance of Miss Reeder, Odile and her fellow librarians defy the authorities to make sure all their subscribers, even those deemed no longer desirable, get access to books and remain part of their community, whatever the cost.
Choices as black and white as the words on a page become a murky shade of grey - choices that will put many of the wrong side of history, and the consequences of which will echo for decades to come.
Specification
Article Number:
139575
Author:
Janet Skeslien Charles
Brand Name:
Hachette
ISBN:
9781529335453
Number of Pages:
336
Product Contains:
Trade Paperback
Product Depth:
3.0 cm
Product Height:
23.4 cm
Product Weight:
0.3 kg
Product Width:
15.3 cm
Published:
09.02.2021
Publisher:
Hachette
Release Date:
Tue Feb 09 00:00:00 AEDT 2021