The Midwife by Tricia Cresswell

The Midwife by Tricia Cresswell

$16
RRP $32.99 (51% OFF RRP)
Afterpay
4 payments of $4Learn more
Zip
From $10 a weekLearn more
Lay-by
Pay off over timeLearn more
Product DetailsSpecificationReviewsDelivery & Returns
A haunting and moving debut, The Midwife by Tricia Cresswell is perfect for fans of The Familiars and The Binding.

1830. After a violent storm, a woman is found alone, naked and near death, on the Northumberland moors. She has no memory of who she is or how she got there. But she can remember how to help a woman in labour and how to expertly dress a wound, and can speak fluent French. With the odds against her, a penniless single woman, she starts to build her life from scratch, using her skills to help other woman around her. She finds a happy place in the world. Until tragedy strikes, and she must run for her life . . .

In London, Dr Borthwick lives a solitary life working as an accoucheur dealing with mothers and babies in the elegant homes of high society together with his midwife, Mrs Bates, and volunteering in the slums of the Devil’s Acre alongside a young widow, Eleanor Johnson. His professional reputation is spotless and he keeps his private life just as clean, isolating himself from any new acquaintances. But he is harbouring a dark secret from his past – one that threatens to spill over everything.
Article Number:
205645
Author:
Tricia Cresswell
Brand Name:
Macmillan
ISBN:
9781529093681
Product Contains:
Trade Paperback
Product Depth:
2.7 cm
Product Height:
23.4 cm
Product Weight:
0.44 kg
Product Width:
15.5 cm
Published:
22.02.2022
Publisher:
Pan Macmillan
Release Date:
Tue Feb 22 00:00:00 AEDT 2022
Product details
A haunting and moving debut, The Midwife by Tricia Cresswell is perfect for fans of The Familiars and The Binding.

1830. After a violent storm, a woman is found alone, naked and near death, on the Northumberland moors. She has no memory of who she is or how she got there. But she can remember how to help a woman in labour and how to expertly dress a wound, and can speak fluent French. With the odds against her, a penniless single woman, she starts to build her life from scratch, using her skills to help other woman around her. She finds a happy place in the world. Until tragedy strikes, and she must run for her life . . .

In London, Dr Borthwick lives a solitary life working as an accoucheur dealing with mothers and babies in the elegant homes of high society together with his midwife, Mrs Bates, and volunteering in the slums of the Devil’s Acre alongside a young widow, Eleanor Johnson. His professional reputation is spotless and he keeps his private life just as clean, isolating himself from any new acquaintances. But he is harbouring a dark secret from his past – one that threatens to spill over everything.
Specification
Article Number:
205645
Author:
Tricia Cresswell
Brand Name:
Macmillan
ISBN:
9781529093681
Product Contains:
Trade Paperback
Product Depth:
2.7 cm
Product Height:
23.4 cm
Product Weight:
0.44 kg
Product Width:
15.5 cm
Published:
22.02.2022
Publisher:
Pan Macmillan
Release Date:
Tue Feb 22 00:00:00 AEDT 2022