Esther's Children by Caroline Beecham

Esther's Children by Caroline Beecham

$16
RRP $32.99 (51% OFF RRP)
Afterpay
4 payments of $4Learn more
Zip
From $10 a weekLearn more
Lay-by
Pay off over timeLearn more
Product DetailsSpecificationReviewsDelivery & Returns
Austria, 1936: Esther 'Tess' Simpson works for a British organisation that rescues academics from the cruel Fascist and anti-Semitic regimes taking hold in Europe. On a dangerous trip to Vienna to help bring aid to Europe's threatened Jewish scholars, Esther meets Harry Singer, a young Jewish academic and musician.

Tess works tirelessly to rescue at-risk academics and scientists from across Europe, trying to find positions for them in Britain and America. In 1938, she secures employment for Harry at Imperial College, London, their love affair intensifying as the world heads into war; yet they are separated once again as Britain moves to intern European refugees.

With Harry detained on the Isle of Man while still waiting for news of his parents, Esther and the Society plead with the government for the interned scientists' release. When Harry is eventually liberated, his future with Esther is by no means secure as he faces an impossible choice.

Confronting the horrific dangers of World War Two with remarkable integrity and bravery, Esther Simpson is revealed as an exceptional heroine.

Praise for Finding Eadie:

'A riveting, heart-stopping read that features fascinating insight into London's wartime publishing world.' - Woman's Day

'[Beecham's] characters are likeable and real, her writing is engaging and the subject matter is gripping.' - The Weekly Times

'This moving story of Alice's fearless pursuit of her baby contains all the ingredients of a spy thriller … A wonderful page-turner with great relevance for our times.' - The Chronicle

Product Features:

  • Inspired by the extraordinary life of Esther Simpson, Esther's Children is a powerful novel of love and courage.
  • From the picturesque streets of pre-war Vienna to Britain's atmospheric cities in the grip of war, Esther's Children is the perfect read for fans of Kate Quinn's The Alice Network, and Kelly Rimmer's The Warsaw Orphan.
  • Historical fiction based on true events, for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Warsaw Orphan.
Article Number:
219612
Author:
Caroline Beecham
Brand Name:
Allen & Unwin
ISBN:
9781760879501
Number of Pages:
376
Product Contains:
Paperback
Product Depth:
2.7 cm
Product Height:
23.4 cm
Product Weight:
0.47 kg
Product Width:
15.3 cm
Published:
03.05.2022
Publisher:
Allen & Unwin
Product details
Austria, 1936: Esther 'Tess' Simpson works for a British organisation that rescues academics from the cruel Fascist and anti-Semitic regimes taking hold in Europe. On a dangerous trip to Vienna to help bring aid to Europe's threatened Jewish scholars, Esther meets Harry Singer, a young Jewish academic and musician.

Tess works tirelessly to rescue at-risk academics and scientists from across Europe, trying to find positions for them in Britain and America. In 1938, she secures employment for Harry at Imperial College, London, their love affair intensifying as the world heads into war; yet they are separated once again as Britain moves to intern European refugees.

With Harry detained on the Isle of Man while still waiting for news of his parents, Esther and the Society plead with the government for the interned scientists' release. When Harry is eventually liberated, his future with Esther is by no means secure as he faces an impossible choice.

Confronting the horrific dangers of World War Two with remarkable integrity and bravery, Esther Simpson is revealed as an exceptional heroine.

Praise for Finding Eadie:

'A riveting, heart-stopping read that features fascinating insight into London's wartime publishing world.' - Woman's Day

'[Beecham's] characters are likeable and real, her writing is engaging and the subject matter is gripping.' - The Weekly Times

'This moving story of Alice's fearless pursuit of her baby contains all the ingredients of a spy thriller … A wonderful page-turner with great relevance for our times.' - The Chronicle

Product Features:

  • Inspired by the extraordinary life of Esther Simpson, Esther's Children is a powerful novel of love and courage.
  • From the picturesque streets of pre-war Vienna to Britain's atmospheric cities in the grip of war, Esther's Children is the perfect read for fans of Kate Quinn's The Alice Network, and Kelly Rimmer's The Warsaw Orphan.
  • Historical fiction based on true events, for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Warsaw Orphan.
Specification
Article Number:
219612
Author:
Caroline Beecham
Brand Name:
Allen & Unwin
ISBN:
9781760879501
Number of Pages:
376
Product Contains:
Paperback
Product Depth:
2.7 cm
Product Height:
23.4 cm
Product Weight:
0.47 kg
Product Width:
15.3 cm
Published:
03.05.2022
Publisher:
Allen & Unwin